The Calm Before the Storm

I feel like I’m in the eye of the hurricane. Everything leading up to this moment has been hectic, filled with panic and uncertainty. In less than 48 hours I will be landing in Cambodia, having left behind family, friends, a job, a car, a cat, and everything that made up my life as I knew it. For now, though, I am in that peaceful place right before anything happens. I know it’s coming, and at least in this moment I’m not scared, I’m not imagining worst-case scenarios, I’m not making lists of things I still have to do before I leave: I’m just existing.

I’ve been watching this video I made 2 years ago after my last trip to Southeast Asia, and it’s been psyching me up for what’s to come:

 

See you on the other side!

2 thoughts on “The Calm Before the Storm

Leave a Reply

